Arunachaleshwar Temple in Thiruvannamalai Tamil Nadu

Here is Some Information about Arunachaleshwar Temple in Thiruvannamalai Tamil Nadu India.


Location: foot of the Arunachala Hill Thiruvannamalai Tamil Nadu
Built in: between 1502 to 1529
Built By:Vijayanagara ruler Krishna Deva Raya
Dedicated to: Lord Siva
Entry: Free
Photography:Allow
Temple Timing: 5.00 a.m. to 12.30 a.m. and 3.30 p.m. to 9.30 p.m
Significance: Form of Fire taken By Lord Shiva.
Visiting Timing:1 to 2 hours
Best time to Visit:November to December
Phone: +91-4175 252 438.
Email : arunachaleswarartempletvm@gmail.com
Nearest Railway Station: Madurai and Tirupati
Nearest Air Port: Kanchipuram 100 Km

The Arunachaleshwar Temple is Located in foot of the Arunachala Hill Thiruvannamalai Tamil Nadu state of india.The temple is built in between 1502 to 1529 and built by Vijayanagara ruler Krishna Deva Raya.This temple city is about 80 kilometres away from Katpadi or otherwise known as Vellore. This temple can also reached from Chennai traveling to a distance of about 180 kilometres. Shiva and Parvathi are the two deities that are worshipped here at Arunachaleeswar temple. Shiva is prayed here in the form of Agni. One of the panchaboothas that is used as an element to incarnate this earth or universe.It is significant to the Hindu sect of Saivism as one of the temples associated with the five elements, the Pancha Bhoota Stalas, and specifically the element of fire, or Agni. Shiva is worshiped as Annamalaiyar or Arunachaleswarar, and is represented by the lingam, with his idol referred to as Agni lingam. His consort Parvati is depicted as Unnamulai Amman. The presiding deity is revered in the 7th century Tamil Saiva canonical work, the Tevaram, written by Tamil saint poets known as the nayanars and classified as Paadal Petra Sthalam. The 9th century Saiva saint poet Manikkavasagar composed the Tiruvempaavai here.
The greatness of this Arunachaleswarar temple was glorified through poems written by salivate poets Appar, Sundarar, Manickavasagar, and Sambandar. This is also well known as the Padal Petra Sthalam in Tamil besides few more temples in Tamil Nadu that enjoys this status.Many kings of those periods have contributed their share to the growth and welfare of this Arunachaleswarar temple. Construction was going on at a steady pace over the last thousand years indicating its importance and patron received by this temple from the public. It has continuously expanded due to the initiative of the kings and the public contribution.

Architecture of Arunachaleshwar Temple  
 

The Arunachaleswara Temple has a 60m or 13 storied high sculptured gopurams. There are in total 9 gopurams of which four are in the middle of the walls. The larger one or the big tower is called by the name of Raja gopuram. Thirumanjuna gopuram and pey Gopuram are to the north and south of the temple. The outer corridor has a granite wall that links the entrance gopurams. The massive wall is about 30 ft high.
On entering the temple from the east, there is the Thousand pillar hall built by Chola king Krishna Deva Raya. The exactly 1000 pillars are inscripted with the sculptures of the Naik period. The mandapam where the deity is placed and worshiped is known as the Ani Thirumanjaram. The sacred tank or pool of ShivaGanga is towards the south of the Kambathu iiayanar mandapam with enclosed corridor. The tank is used for the purification and ablution of the Deities in the temple. The water to the tank was provided by digging a canal called Thirumalaiamman Devi Samundram.
The third mandapa has 16 pillars and it is from this mandapa that the Pancha Murthis or the five deities give darshan on the day of Kartigai. The sanctum is reached by the main entrance in the east. Within the sanctum Lord Shiva personified as Annamalaiyar is present in Linga form . The Rudra baga is covered with gold plate. There is the Devi shrine to the opposite of the Mandapa.
History of  Arunachaleshwar Temple 

The present masonry and towers date back to the 9th century CE, as seen from an inscription in the structure made by Chola kings who ruled at that time. Further inscriptions indicate that before the 9th century, Tiruvannamalai was under the Pallava Kings, who ruled from Kanchipuram. The 7th century Nayanar saints Sambandar and Appar wrote of the temple in their poetic work, Tevaram. Sekkizhar, the author of the Periyapuranam wrote that both Appar and Sambandar worshiped Annamalaiyar in the temple. The Chola Kings ruled over the region for more than four centuries, from 850 CE to 1280 CE, and were temple patrons. The inscriptions from the Chola king record various gifts like land, sheep, cow and oil to the temple commemorating various victories of the dynasty. The Hoysala kings used Tiruvannamalai as their capital beginning in 1328 CE. There are 48 inscriptions from the Sangama Dynasty (1336–1485 CE), 2 inscriptions from Saluva Dynasty, and 55 inscriptions from Tuluva Dynasty (1491–1570 CE) of the Vijayanagara Empire, reflecting gifts to the temple from their rulers. There are also inscriptions from the rule of Krishnadeva Raya (1509–1529 CE), the most powerful Vijayanagara king, indicating further patronage. Most of the Vijayanagara inscriptions were written in Tamil, with some in Kannada and Sanskrit. The inscriptions in temple from the Vijayanagara kings indicate emphasis on administrative matters and local concerns, which contrasts the inscriptions of the same rulers in other temples like Tirupathi. The majority of the gift related inscriptions are for land endownments, followed by goods, cash endowments, cows and oil for lighting lamps. The town of Tiruvannamalai was at a strategic crossroads during the Vijayanagara Empire, connecting sacred centers of pilgrimage and military routes. There are inscriptions that show the area as an urban center before the precolonial period, with the city developing around the temple, similar to the Nayak ruled cities like Madurai.

During the 17th century CE, the temple along with the Tiruvannamalai town came under the dominion of the Nawab of the Carnatic. As the Mughal empire came to an end, the Nawab lost control of the town, with confusion and chaos ensuing after 1753. Subsequently, there were periods of both Hindu and Muslim stewardship of the temple, with Muraru Raya, Krishna Raya, Mrithis Ali Khan, and Burkat Ullakhan besieging the temple in succession. As European incursions progressed, Tiruvannamalai was attacked by French Soupries, Sambrinet, and the English Captain Stephen Smith. While some were repelled, others were victorious. The French occupied the town in 1757, and the temple along with the town came under control of the British in 1760. In 1790 CE, Tiruvannamalai town was captured by Tippu Sultan, who ruled from 1750–99 CE. During the first half of the 19th century, the town along with the temple came under British rule. From 1951, under the provision of the Hindu Religious and Charitable Endowments Act, the temple has been maintained by the Hindu Religious and Endowment Board (HR &CE) of the Government of Tamil Nadu. In 2002, the Archaeological Survey of India declared the temple a national heritage monument and took over its stewardship. Widespread protests and litigation with the Supreme Court of India, however, led the Archaeological Survey to cede the temple back to the Hindu Religious and Endowment Board.

How to Reach  Arunachaleshwar Temple 

By Road: The bus stand here is just 2 kms near to the temple. Many people arrive by bus to the temple. The Triruvalluvar Transport Corporation buses run here regularly to places like Tirupati, Chennai, and Kanchipuram.
By Rail: The train station is in the line between Madurai and Tirupati. Metro gauge trains operate between Vellore and Triruvanamalai.
By Air: Triruvanamalai is over 100 km south of Kanchipuram and 185km to Madras. From Madras there are international flights to important destinations around the world.
Picture Gellery of  Arunachaleshwar Temple 





Google Map of  Arunachaleshwar Temple 


No comments:

Post a Comment

Get New Updates Every day Like This Page